Spyder Garage

Question Fault codes C006C U0122 C0051 - Help!

I purchased my Spyder RT Limited in April and absolutely love it. It is by far the best open ride I have ever owned and I have been riding bikes for over 30 years. The problem I have been having is that the bike will go into Limp Home Mode unexpectantly . I can pull off the side of the road, shut it off, and after a few minutes restart it and all is well again. This has happened to me six times since I've had this bike now. I assure you that I am not riding the brake. I make sure my right foot is positioned at the outside most part of the foot peg at all times unless I actually use the brake. I have taken the bike into my dealership three times and is currently there now and has been for the last 10 days.

Here is what B.U.D.S. reports as faults each time I bring it in but they are not active faults:

C006C ECM
    U0122 DPS
    C0051 VCM

I am very happy with my dealership and the service department. They are genuinely concerned with my problem and are doing everything they can to resolve it. The first time I brought the bike in for Limp Home Mode and Check DPS that happened twice on two consecutive days. The steering angle sensor and magnet were replaced per BRP's suggestion. This worked well for a couple weeks then I got shutdown on a highway when it went into Limp Home Mode and Check DPS on the display. It did it again the following day. I brought the bike into the service department for the second time. They recalibrated the SAS. The third episode happened twice within two days also. The service manager contacted BRP concerning the fault codes and was told to check the cable connections. He felt that the BRP rep was rather rude and not very helpful. I sent Carlo an email concerning the problem yesterday. Hopefully he can provide some much needed assistance.