Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Spyder Garage

Question Seeking wisdom from the list about how best to lift the front with a jack?

I could use some assistance por favor. Jake is wanting to swap front tires on Cretin Girl, his 2021 RT Limited. I have no experience lifting the front end or either front wheel off the ground. I did some messages with Mike (BLUEKNIGHT911) awhile back and IIRC he said I could get a conventional floor jack under the A arm, to lift one side at a time. The problem I’m having, I can get the floor jack under the A arm but, Mike told me to put a piece of wood between the jack and the A arm yet I don’t have enough clearance to get both, under the A arm. As you can see in the pic I’m posting here, I’m using a 2 by 4 but it’s too thick, to get it on top of the jack and under the suspension.

I have another question come to think of it (looking at the pic). Is it better to work the jack (like the floor jack I’m using) from behind like where it’s positioned or is it better to come at it from the front? For those noble souls that have gone before me, I’m all ears TIA

Best,

Jake
    Reddick, Fla.
    It’s never too late to have a happy childhood
    2021 Can Am Spyder RT Limited
    2020 Rally , Black

Spyder Garage

If you can find a piece of cardboard and double it over, that should give you sufficient protection against gouging the paint on the A-Arm and still leave you enough room. Turn the wheel so that you get better access to the jack. You should be able to tell which direction will give you the easiest options. My guess would be from the rear. But I've not jacked a Spyder using a scissors jack. Not that it won't work.

Are you swapping wheels with another Spyder?
    Shop Ph: 423-609-7588 (M-F, 8-5, Eastern Time)

Only SLOW people have to leave on time...

Spyder Garage

Quote Originally Posted by BajaRon View Post