Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: New to Spyder

Spyder Garage

Default New to Spyder

Hey guys! I just purchased a 2009 Spyder GS Phantom Black Limited Edition SM5, and absolutely love it!! The thing is tho - I'm totally new to Spyders and totally new to riding (I've never ridden a motorcycle before). I have gotten on it a few times already, and am actually pretty comfortable with it, but I wanted to see if any of you had any hints or tips that I should know about this totally, wicked awesome bike!! Any help would be appreciated

Registered Users
    Spyder Garage

welcome

Spyder Garage

welcome and on your new !

If you are ever in the D/FW area, shoot me a PM and maybe we can go for a ryde!

David
    David
    McKinney, TX

Invalid Emails
    Spyder Garage

Quote Originally Posted by andys11907 View Post
    Hey guys! I just purchased a 2009 Spyder GS Phantom Black Limited Edition SM5, and absolutely love it!! The thing is tho - I'm totally new to Spyders and totally new to riding (I've never ridden a motorcycle before). I have gotten on it a few times already, and am actually pretty comfortable with it, but I wanted to see if any of you had any hints or tips that I should know about this totally, wicked awesome bike!! Any help would be appreciated
    Congrats to you, I think the fact that you have not ridden a motorcycle is an advantage at this time. My only advise it to take it easy and relax. I have been a mo-cycle rider since the early 60's and for me it took a while as I had to forget a lot of things 'drilled into me' for riding bikes. For me the learning curve was about 600 miles for sure but now I feel realy comfortable and can relax and lighten up on my grip.

Just don't push it right away there is plenty of time for that later when you are more used to the fact that it does not lean in the turns so the forces are higher than a Bike.

Every one is different but I lean and place my weight slightly forward during sharp turns, its great fun.