Spyder Garage

Default Time for New Shocks

Hi All,
    I have been riding my 2013 STL for about 4 years now. I have put 13,500 miles on it. I'm close to getting new tires, but I'm thinking I will get the shocks replaced also. Here are my questions:
    1. Should I do it?
    2. If so, what should I get? I see Elka Stage 2 and Fox mentioned. What is giving you the greatest success. I ride solo 80% of the time and the rest of the time is group riding with my bride on the back.
    3. Where do you get them? Dealer? Online?

BTW, I have already changed the sway bar and links for Baja Ron models. The sway bar made a big difference. The reason I am considering new shocks is it seems a little mushy in tight curves, and in Pennsylvania we have a lot of tight curves!
    All the best,
    John

2022 RT Limited

• Garmin XT (I would be lost without it)
      Driving Lights (Very bright to improve my sight)
      Floorboard Lights and Turn Signals (I like to be seen)
      Passenger Armrests (So my wife doesn't fall off)
      Trailer Hitch (So we can bring more stuff with us)
      Chrome Wheels (Because the beautiful stock wheels just weren't good enough)
      Front Fender Sequential Reflector Lights (I was wondering what to do with my paycheck)

Spyder Garage

Default Depends...

That is not a lot of miles and I would imagine your shocks are fine. If you are not having problems with the handling. If adjustable you could change the adjustment and note the difference. My rear shock has 40,000 miles (6 years) and works fine even double up. I did change a lot on the front end due to the ryding I do and put on the Fox Podium shock and happy with them....
    Gene and Ilana De Laney
    Mt. Helix, California

​2012 RS sm5
    2012 RS sm5 , 998cc V-Twin 106hp DIY brake and park brake Classic Black

Very Active Member
    Spyder Garage

Quote Originally Posted by Chupaca View Post