Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Very Active Member
    Spyder Garage

Default Can technology solve the hydroplaning issue with Spyders?

I'm no expert. And, I have my own 'common sense' biases about what the trade-offs might be between wet road traction and dry road traction in tires. But, I'd rather hear from the folks with true expertise in tire technology as well as those who have real-world experiences of hydroplaning on their Spyder.

My bias is that the flat profile of the Spyder tires creates great traction on dry road, but contributes to hydroplaning on roads with standing water. I think there are probably tires (car tires) that have a reputation for good traction in both dry and wet conditions, but not necessarily hydroplaning conditions (an inch or more of standing water on the road). A tire that does have excellent wet-road performance to combat hydroplaning probably has either very poor life, or poor dry-road handling or some other unacceptable trade-off.

Maybe, as most have said on this forum, the only solution in hydroplaning situations is to slow down and get off the road until those conditions have passed.

All of this above is 'seat of the pants' and I'm sure there are plenty others with supportive or contradictory opinions. But, what I'm hoping to hear is opinions based on technological expertise and / or real-world experiences.

Thanks.
    2014 RTL Platinum

Very Active Member BLUEKNIGHT911's Avatar
    Spyder Garage

Default HYDROPLANING QUESTION

Quote Originally Posted by UtahPete View Post
    I'm no expert. And, I have my own 'common sense' biases about what the trade-offs might be between wet road traction and dry road traction in tires. But, I'd rather hear from the folks with true expertise in tire technology as well as those who have real-world experiences of hydroplaning on their Spyder.