Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Spyder Garage

Default More dumb questions from a newbie ....

When is it necessary to leave the Spyder hooked up to a charger? when not in use for a week? a month?
    Do I have to hook up the battery tender straight to the battery? If I have a USB installed can I just plug the tender into the USB port?

Spyder Garage

I’m new at this as well but mine is hooked up full time to a tender that I got off Amazon for 24 bucks. Plugs into a pigtail in the frunk.
    2015 RTL , Yes Pearl White

Very Active Member
    Spyder Garage

Most dealers install a Battery Tender pigtail for use with their Jr battery charger/maintainer. There are many chargers but Battery Tender makes the better chargers and most bikers use their JR version which is easy to use. If you don’t have the pigtail the JR does come with one to permanently attach to the battery so you can plug the tender in when not riding.

If you ride a lot then you don’t need to do it but ride only on weekends it might be a good idea to keep the battery good.
    2021 F3 Ltd , Magna Red

Very Active Member
    Spyder Garage

There are no dumb questions... We've all been there

Re tender - I would say essential on the twins unless ridden daily. No need on the triple... it has different and improved alternator set-up vs the twins.

Spyder Garage

Quote Originally Posted by loisk View Post

Re tender - I would say essential on the twins unless ridden daily. No need on the triple... it has different and improved alternator set-up vs the twins.
    Hi Lois that’s shorthand for us newbies. One refers to the 990 the other to the 1330 right?
    2015 RTL , Yes Pearl White

Invalid Emails
    Spyder Garage