Spyder Garage

Default 2012 RT Gas Smell *sorry*

I know this issue has been talked about a lot on here, but I went back to riding 2 wheels for the last couple of years but still kept my Spyder. It has always put off a strong gas smell when stopping and getting off the bike. I have to leave it outside for a couple of house because the smell is so bad it would seep into our house through the A/C vents. There is never any liquid involved under the bike. I remember some time back that BRP told me I needed to replace the gas cap cover. That did not solve it but it is about the time I started riding 2 wheels again and did not ride the RT very often and my wife started riding it. The smell still persisted and I just stopped following forum posts about the problem. We never overfill and I still have the original cannister, etc installed, only change was to the gas cap which seemed to be a stupid fix to me.

So, here I am now trying to find out where this issue was finally solved or not solved. some of the posts on this issue for this year bike are 4-5 years old. Sorry if I missed something in my search for recent information.

What were some of the additional fixes and tips RT riders have used to hopefully solved this issue?

Keith
    The Villages, FL

Very Active Member BLUEKNIGHT911's Avatar
    Spyder Garage

Default GAS SMELL