Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Spyder Garage

Default Considering Purchase

Hi all! Its my first time here.. I am considering purchasing a Can Am Spyder. I am hoping you guys could help me understand a few things about the Spyder. I have never rode a street bike before although I do have a quad and used to ride mini-bikes when I was a kid.

For those who have ridden both 2 wheels and Spyders, my first question is .. Do you think the Spyder is significantly safer? I know there is no real protection around you like when you are in a car, but the 3 wheels seems (in theory) to be more stable which is making me think it may be safer.

Also, there seems to be so many different variations of the Spyder. Which year and model do you think would be a good choice for a first timer? I know how to use a clutch but the semi automatic feature seems very cool and very easy.

I live in New York and I am signing up for a 2 day course to get my motorcycle licence on a 2 wheel bike. Im thinking that would be the way to go so I could ride anything rather than use the Spyder for the road test (which in NY means I would only be able to drive a 3 wheel bike).

One other really dumb question (please bear with me)... do all these Spyders have radios? and if not (or so), is it worth it to have one? Can you hear it when you are riding?

I am sure I will have more questions but thats enough for now. Thank you!

Rich

Spyder Garage

Hi Rich,

Re: Do you think the Spyder is significantly safer?

Yes.

Re: Which year and model do you think would be a good choice for a first timer? I know how to use a clutch but the semi automatic feature seems very cool and very easy.

Check the classifieds on here. I am biased but I really like my '08 with the SE-5 shift system.

Re: do all these Spyders have radios? and if not (or so), is it worth it to have one? Can you hear it when you are riding?

No.

Not worth it IMO.

I do not know nor care if one can hear it while riding.