Thread: Winter storage

Spyder Garage

Default Winter storage

I am new to the Spyder world. Purchased a used 2015 F3S a few months ago. Being in Minnesota need to soon store the bike for winter. It will be stored in a non-heated garage. I have read the manual about storage and also some other posts but still have a few questions I thought I would ask the group.

1). Looks like leaving the battery in the bike all winter is fine but was wondering if removing the battery is better?
    2). Do people leave the battery maintainer powered on all winter or should it be turned on every couple weeks or once a month?
    3). I have read some people say cover the bike, some say don’t. Thoughts on this? Also, I have F4 28” windshield, any suggestions for a cover that will fit with the taller windshield?
    4). Manual says change the oil before storing for winter. Dealer I bought the bike from suggested changing the oil in the spring before starting to ride again. Thoughts on this?
    5). Any other suggestions?

Thanks everyone!

Spyder Garage

Quote Originally Posted by Sbdraz View Post
    I am new to the Spyder world. Purchased a used 2015 F3S a few months ago. Being in Minnesota need to soon store the bike for winter. It will be stored in a non-heated garage. I have read the manual about storage and also some other posts but still have a few questions I thought I would ask the group.

1). Looks like leaving the battery in the bike all winter is fine but was wondering if removing the battery is better?
    2). Do people leave the battery maintainer powered on all winter or should it be turned on every couple weeks or once a month?
    3). I have read some people say cover the bike, some say don’t. Thoughts on this? Also, I have F4 28” windshield, any suggestions for a cover that will fit with the taller windshield?