Thanks Thanks:  15
Likes Likes:  10
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 44
  1. #1
    Very Active Member Wildrice's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    Westerville, OH
    Posts
    695

    Default Best method to ship ECU to Monster Fuel in Canada

    USPS, UPS, FedX---? I'll have over one week of out of town vacation time. What has been everyone's experience--cost--time frame doing the ECU shipment for performance ECU reflash?
    Thank you kindly,
    Darrell

  2. #2
    Very Active Member trikermutha's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    2,411

    Default

    Someone posted how to send think FedEx was the way to go.

  3. #3
    Active Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    Lodi WI
    Posts
    212

    Default Fed-ex ground

    Fed Ex ground gets there in 2 days. About $26 with a box. Ask for a brown box that's 13" X 10" X 3" thick. It's under the counter at my Fed-Ex outlet.
    What happens starting at 5,000 rpm to red line is going to blow you away. If your not under warranty or don't care, consider the 8,600 rev limit.
    I just traded in my Flash 2015 RT for a 2016 F3 limited. When they hooked up the BUDS as part of the inspection process, not a word was said about my bike having been up to 9,100 rpm.

    Quote Originally Posted by Wildrice View Post
    USPS, UPS, FedX---? I'll have over one week of out of town vacation time. What has been everyone's experience--cost--time frame doing the ECU shipment for performance ECU reflash?
    Thank you kindly,
    Darrell

  4. #4
    Active Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Location
    Ontario
    Posts
    52

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Wildrice View Post
    USPS, UPS, FedX---? I'll have over one week of out of town vacation time. What has been everyone's experience--cost--time frame doing the ECU shipment for performance ECU reflash?
    Thank you kindly,
    Darrell
    Method doesn't matter.
    USPS has cheapest options with longest times
    FedEx and UPS have next day options but at a cost. And they also have a ground option that can be anywhere from 2 days to 5 days.

    With all, you can go online to website and estimate cost and time. Or they can tell you at counter.

    Pricing varies per state. And how remote you are from major city.

    Some people ship next day both ways and have ecu out/done/back in 3 days. Others just send cheapest option and it can take a week (or more) turn around.
    Last edited by Spyd_Piper; 08-19-2017 at 08:52 AM.

  5. #5
    Active Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Copperhill, Tennessee
    Posts
    80

    Default

    Aftermarket ECU reflashing is somewhat common with both the Harley Davison and Indian motorcycle community.

    You can take a box Stock HD motorcycle, as I have done, had the proper tune (program) for my bike done and the results are a much better running motorcycle, better throttle response, smoother power and a good increase in power with better overall drivability.

    The engine in the Spyder is set up to meet EPA requirements, not best performance out of the engine. A properly reflashed ECU will meet best overall performance rather than being strangled to meet EPA requirements.

    The ability to get your Spyder's ECU reflashed is a home run in the overall ride ability of your Spyder.

    I am glad that these guys are offering their service, generating new and improved Maps is no small task by a long shot.
    Dean O
    Gran Pa Hoon
    Founder San Jose BMW
    Builder of the Motorcyclist Cafe Barn and Bunkhouse
    Copperhill, Tennessee

  6. #6
    Active Member Dray's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    Graham Tx
    Posts
    274

    Default ecu reflash

    Call monster up and let them instruct you. They have a specific way to get
    your ecu shipped without the border patrols getting involved.

    Dray

  7. #7
    Very Active Member Wildrice's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    Westerville, OH
    Posts
    695

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Dray View Post
    Call monster up and let them instruct you. They have a specific way to get
    your ecu shipped without the border patrols getting involved.

    Dray
    Done that--it all varies--some freight is easier to clear customs--some faster-some slower-$$ costs--choices are endless--just wanted experience on the shipment.

  8. #8
    Eponymous Member Bob Denman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Grahamsville, NY
    Posts
    89,174

    Default

    Why not just ride your bike to up to them, and have them make some "magic happen", while you wait?

    You've got the week off!
    If my Ass is in the saddle: my head is in the clouds!


    2010 RT A&C...............2014 RT-L...................2018 10th Year RT-L
    ............Gone; but not forgotten!!................... The Latest, and Best!

  9. #9
    Active Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Location
    Ontario
    Posts
    52

    Default

    Border is no issue at all. Either shipping method. Stuff comes back and forth no problem.

    The only reason its mentioned is because "our Canadian" government likes to charge 13% tax on anything coming across border.
    So by specifying "ecu repair" and $1 value, that tax charge is rightfully avoided.

    On items due for tax here, FedEx and UPS charge $75 fee to charge you 13% tax. Whereas Canada Post / US Post only charge $8 fee.
    Meaning, if a mistake is made for import description and value, the fees through USPS are way lower than UPS or FedEx.

    Follow shipping instructions abput value and item description and ALL shipping vendors work great. Even DHL etc.

  10. #10
    Active Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    Long Island new york
    Posts
    45

    Default Flash is great!

    I had my 2016 f3s done by monster..... it was well worth it. More power everywhere but oddly I noticed it most in neutral! Just MUCH more crisp and quicker revving. I can hear the intake honking and it just pulls better. Actually kinda hard getting used to being smooth off the line after getting accostumed to the old power delivery. Iím a happy camper

  11. #11
    Very Active Member hypurone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Location
    NorCal - Northbay
    Posts
    518

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Sweetwater View Post
    I had my 2016 f3s done by monster..... it was well worth it. More power everywhere but oddly I noticed it most in neutral! Just MUCH more crisp and quicker revving. I can hear the intake honking and it just pulls better. Actually kinda hard getting used to being smooth off the line after getting accostumed to the old power delivery. Iím a happy camper
    Interesting, my F3-S was a dismal failure as well as Dennis's F3T.... When did you have yours flashed exactly? We were both early adopters, Dennis well before me. His RT was spectacular but when he traded in for the F3T it was awful. I am still waiting to hear from Steve as to when he feels he has sorted out the issues and a troublesome P0172 code that Dennis keeps getting, before I send mine back for another attempt.

    '15 F3-S Pure Magnesium Metallic - Mad Max Edition
    '10 Chevy Camaro 2SS/RS A6 SC - The Beast

    "You Were Really Flyin', When I Passed You Back There!"

    Chuck

  12. #12
    Very Active Member one2doo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Johnson City TN
    Posts
    664

    Default

    Mine popped a code when I first got it done. Sent it back in September for a fix and is fine now.

  13. #13
    Active Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    Long Island new york
    Posts
    45

    Default Two weeks ago

    I had the reflash done 2 weeks ago. Itís not a rocket, but like I said... itís a pretty impressive difference. So far.. no codes... but u have me worried!

  14. #14
    Very Active Member hypurone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Location
    NorCal - Northbay
    Posts
    518

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Sweetwater View Post
    I had the reflash done 2 weeks ago. Itís not a rocket, but like I said... itís a pretty impressive difference. So far.. no codes... but u have me worried!
    What model do you have? Just so I can keep track of who has what and their results.....

    '15 F3-S Pure Magnesium Metallic - Mad Max Edition
    '10 Chevy Camaro 2SS/RS A6 SC - The Beast

    "You Were Really Flyin', When I Passed You Back There!"

    Chuck

  15. #15
    Active Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    Long Island new york
    Posts
    45

    Default Model

    I have the f3s semi auto. Cat delete (with small muffler welded in) and voodoo exhaust

  16. #16
    Very Active Member hypurone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Location
    NorCal - Northbay
    Posts
    518

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Sweetwater View Post
    I had the reflash done 2 weeks ago. Itís not a rocket, but like I said... itís a pretty impressive difference. So far.. no codes... but u have me worried!
    Well, after all the work put in by Dennis in Lodi, I would hope that Steve has it sorted out by now!

    Quote Originally Posted by Sweetwater View Post
    I have the f3s semi auto. Cat delete (with small muffler welded in) and voodoo exhaust
    Thanks, sounds like he has made good progress then. I am gonna wait to send mine back until he has developed and dyno'ed a specific 89tooth tune from a Daytona he has use of now. He is supposedly doing this in the spring of this year, so we are getting close!

    '15 F3-S Pure Magnesium Metallic - Mad Max Edition
    '10 Chevy Camaro 2SS/RS A6 SC - The Beast

    "You Were Really Flyin', When I Passed You Back There!"

    Chuck

  17. #17
    Active Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    Long Island new york
    Posts
    45

    Default Oh boy....

    Will I need to send it back? Whatíll the difference be??

  18. #18
    Very Active Member hypurone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Location
    NorCal - Northbay
    Posts
    518

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Sweetwater View Post
    Will I need to send it back? Whatíll the difference be??
    My understanding is he will work on a more specific 89 tooth flash and incorporate any new features that can be made available. Like top speed limiter removal and some other items I don't recall from the myriad of emails exchanged with him.

    For any of these new features or to have the latest and greatest tune you would have to send it back. But he has 2 locations in the US now for faster service....

    '15 F3-S Pure Magnesium Metallic - Mad Max Edition
    '10 Chevy Camaro 2SS/RS A6 SC - The Beast

    "You Were Really Flyin', When I Passed You Back There!"

    Chuck

  19. #19
    Active Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    Long Island new york
    Posts
    45

    Default Intersting

    I wish he said something, I woulda waited. I sent mine to Canada. How will we know itís available? Do you know where in the US?

  20. #20
    Very Active Member hypurone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Location
    NorCal - Northbay
    Posts
    518

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Sweetwater View Post
    I wish he said something, I woulda waited. I sent mine to Canada. How will we know itís available? Do you know where in the US?
    I looked in my emails and he said there is one in Louisiana and North Carolina but I don't have the addresses. Just call him and get them and give him a heads up that you are sending it back to make sure that whatever place you send it knows it is for a "re-program" and is supposed to be no cost.....

    '15 F3-S Pure Magnesium Metallic - Mad Max Edition
    '10 Chevy Camaro 2SS/RS A6 SC - The Beast

    "You Were Really Flyin', When I Passed You Back There!"

    Chuck

  21. #21
    Active Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    Long Island new york
    Posts
    45

    Default

    Thank you so much... will do in the spring. So far... about 500 miles on the flash and I love it.

  22. #22
    Very Active Member hypurone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Location
    NorCal - Northbay
    Posts
    518

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Sweetwater View Post
    Thank you so much... will do in the spring. So far... about 500 miles on the flash and I love it.
    What exactly are you loving about it? Has the speed limiter been removed? Do you no longer feel it starting to shut down around 100-105 (some were feeling it as early as 96 on their F3, me included, which is the RT shutdown window)? Mine has always been a rocket up to about 100 but now it is more pronounced AFTER the flash! Do you feel yours accelerates better/pulls harder etc throughout the range?

    Just curious....

    '15 F3-S Pure Magnesium Metallic - Mad Max Edition
    '10 Chevy Camaro 2SS/RS A6 SC - The Beast

    "You Were Really Flyin', When I Passed You Back There!"

    Chuck

  23. #23
    Active Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    Long Island new york
    Posts
    45

    Default

    Iím mostly... oddly enough, feeling improved low end and throttle response. It pulls better everywhere, but not really past 105.... it still creeps up to 119 or so. But on the way there it pulls harder and I can hear the intake sucking air now. On the bottom end itís hard not to break the tire loose... it used to be a dog there. I hope the next phase improves the limiter. I am on Long Island and will be at americade if you want to take it for a spin to compare.

  24. #24
    Very Active Member BLUEKNIGHT911's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Central VERMONT
    Posts
    10,722

    Default Monster Mod

    Quote Originally Posted by Sweetwater View Post
    Iím mostly... oddly enough, feeling improved low end and throttle response. It pulls better everywhere, but not really past 105.... it still creeps up to 119 or so. But on the way there it pulls harder and I can hear the intake sucking air now. On the bottom end itís hard not to break the tire loose... it used to be a dog there. I hope the next phase improves the limiter. I am on Long Island and will be at americade if you want to take it for a spin to compare.
    I hope you have an Auto tire on your Spyder and if you do ....at 17-18 psi in the rear tire you will have a lot more traction ........... try it - you'll love it .. ...... Mike

  25. #25
    Active Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    Long Island new york
    Posts
    45

    Default rear tire

    The rear tire is original with 12,000 miles on it. Still on a quest for a slightly wider car tire that'll fit.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •