Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  1
Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Location
    hinckley,mora Mn
    Posts
    8

    Default auxiliary switch?

    is there a auxiliary position on the can am spyder 2015 rts so you can charge your gadgets when having lunch or what ever. can't seem to find it in the manual.

  2. #2
    Active Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    Central Illinois
    Posts
    109

    Default switch

    If you switch a fuse in the frunk it will leave the cigar plug adaptor in the trunk hot all the time. I have a 16 RTS and behind the lining in the frunk there is a plug with wires that you can tap into to put another switch in the frunk. Others have run a hot wire up and placed an adapter in the radio grill plate and someone has a neat one they put in on the rocker panel. I think if you search for power outlet or USB install some will pop up.

    Enjoy the ryde.
    Ranman42

  3. #3
    Very Active Member BLUEKNIGHT911's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    VERMONT
    Posts
    9,376

    Default CHARGING WHILE OFF

    Quote Originally Posted by Dickthal View Post
    is there a auxiliary position on the can am spyder 2015 rts so you can charge your gadgets when having lunch or what ever. can't seem to find it in the manual.
    If you think this absolutely necessary ...... imho get one of those small ion battery jump starters .... in case you deplete your OEM battery ...... Mike

  4. #4
    Very Active Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Location
    North Central Florida
    Posts
    569

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Dickthal View Post
    is there a auxiliary position on the can am spyder 2015 rts so you can charge your gadgets when having lunch or what ever. can't seem to find it in the manual.
    My '11 RT had two 12 V outlets, one front and one back.
    At least one of them was HOT all the time.
    I haven't had a chance to check the new '17 one yet......because I don't get to pick it up for another week.

    But as was mentioned, I'm not sure that charging gadgets from the Spyder while it is not running is a really good idea.
    My ride: '17 Spyder RT

  5. #5
    Very Active Member Mazo EMS2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    southern WI
    Posts
    1,054

    Default

    As mentioned, you can swap a fuse in the fuse box in the frunk to make your 12 plug in the trunk hot all the time. I also added a 12 volt plug to the frunk by utilizing the wires behind the liner in the frunk. Very easy to do. If you're just charging stuff with USB or 12v plugs while ya grab a bite to eat, you'll be fine. I also added a dual usb in my speaker grill, as mentioned above. Just ran a wire from the battery up to the speaker grill area. I have 4 points of power if I need them, 3 12v plugs, and a dual usb. My wife uses the trunk power while we ride, and I use the ports in the speaker grills for phone and/or gps

  6. #6
    Very Active Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Location
    North Central Florida
    Posts
    569

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Mazo EMS2 View Post
    As mentioned, you can swap a fuse in the fuse box in the frunk to make your 12 plug in the trunk hot all the time.
    Don't you really mean that you can move a wire to a different fuse position ??
    My ride: '17 Spyder RT

  7. #7
    Very Active Member JayBros's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Mint Hill, NC
    Posts
    2,190

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Dickthal View Post
    is there a auxiliary position on the can am spyder 2015 rts so you can charge your gadgets when having lunch or what ever. can't seem to find it in the manual.
    Page 60 of your owner's manual.
    Artillery lends dignity to what would
    otherwise be a vulgar brawl.
    ******************************
    Cognac 2014 RT-S
    Tri-Axis Handlebars, Zumo 590 GPS, Kradellock, Comfort Seat,
    BajaRon Sway Bar & Heim Links, SM10 Bluetooth Dongle,
    Spyderpops Bump Skid, Missing Belt Guard, KOTT Grilles

  8. #8
    Very Active Member Mazo EMS2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    southern WI
    Posts
    1,054

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Easy Rider View Post
    Don't you really mean that you can move a wire to a different fuse position ??
    It explains in the manual about moving fuses in the, (I believe) #7 and #8 positions to make the trunk power outlet hot all the time.

  9. #9
    Eponymous Member Bob Denman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Grahamsville, NY
    Posts
    85,387

    2010 RT A&C ................................. 2014 RT Limited.
    (Both are gone, but not forgotten!)

  10. #10
    Very Active Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Location
    North Central Florida
    Posts
    569

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Mazo EMS2 View Post
    It explains in the manual about moving fuses in the, (I believe) #7 and #8 positions to make the trunk power outlet hot all the time.
    What them Canadians won't think of next.

    Would that be the owners manual or the shop manual ??
    My ride: '17 Spyder RT

  11. #11
    Very Active Member JayBros's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Mint Hill, NC
    Posts
    2,190

    Default

    See post #7.
    Artillery lends dignity to what would
    otherwise be a vulgar brawl.
    ******************************
    Cognac 2014 RT-S
    Tri-Axis Handlebars, Zumo 590 GPS, Kradellock, Comfort Seat,
    BajaRon Sway Bar & Heim Links, SM10 Bluetooth Dongle,
    Spyderpops Bump Skid, Missing Belt Guard, KOTT Grilles

  12. #12
    Active Member willey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    martinsburg,ohio
    Posts
    137

    Default cell phones

    My phone never runs down.When I unplug the tender I shut my phone off , throw it in the frunk and that is where it lives while i'am on the rode.Its good to have it if I need it but I never have to charge it during the day.

  13. #13
    Eponymous Member Bob Denman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Grahamsville, NY
    Posts
    85,387

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Easy Rider View Post
    What them Canadians won't think of next.

    Would that be the owners manual or the shop manual ??
    The Owners Manual...

    A 12-volt electric appliance may be
    connected to the jack connector. Electric
    current is supplied all the time.
    NOTICE The 12-volt power outlet
    is not designed to supply current of
    more than 3 amperes.
    NOTE: Leaving an appliance connected
    while the engine is not running
    will gradually discharge the battery.
    NOTE: When fuse 6 is installed in the
    RH fuse box, 12 V power outlet is only
    operational when ignition switch is at
    ON position. When fuse 7 is installed,
    12 V power outlet is always operational.
    Using

    2010 RT A&C ................................. 2014 RT Limited.
    (Both are gone, but not forgotten!)

  14. #14
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Location
    hinckley,mora Mn
    Posts
    8

    Default Auxiliary switch

    Thanks again for the help,and I thought I read the manual, sure enough Page 60, kinda like reading the Bible ,ya miss a lot sometimes.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •