Spyder Garage

Default Possible clutch problem

Good morning folks,

I am in the process of getting my Spyder, 2008 GS SM5, back on the road after a long hiatus. I got a new battery installed and fired the bike up. Well, when I pulled the clutch in and dropped it into 1st, the Spyder lurched forward and stalled. This happened again and again. I notice the clutch lever doesnt have the familiar tension it once had. I am by no means a mechanic, so could it be a wire that engages the clutch came loose? Or is it an electronic issue? I am hoping you guys can give a bit of a diagnosis before I take it to a shop. Hopefully its something my neighbor, who is mechanically inclined, can fix at a minimal cost. Thank you.
    Last edited by jayallday01; 04-25-2017 at 07:27 AM.

Spyder Garage

Quote Originally Posted by jayallday01 View Post
    Good morning folks,

I am in the process of getting my Spyder back on the road after a long hiatus. I got a new battery installed and fired the bike up. Well, when I pulled the clutch in and dropped it into 1st, the Spyder lurched forward and stalled. This happened again and again. I notice the clutch lever doesnt have the familiar tension it once had. I am by no means a mechanic, so could it be a wire that engages the clutch came loose? Or is it an electronic issue? I am hoping you guys can give a bit of a diagnosis before I take it to a shop. Hopefully its something my neighbor, who is mechanically inclined, can fix at a minimal cost. Thank you.

It is a hydraulic clutch & has no cables just a hose going from the clutch master cylinder on the left side of the handlebars down to the right side of the engine.

Take the top off the master cylinder & make sure the fluid level is where it should be. Top up with the grade of brake fluid embossed on the master cylinder cap.

You may also have to remove the rhs engine pod & bleed the clutch.
    2008 GS SM5, Full Moon Silver
    2007 Piaggio MP3 - 250cc

Spyder Garage

2010 RTSM5