Thanks Thanks:  8
Likes Likes:  3
Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Radio reception

  1. #1
    Active Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    Long Island
    Posts
    54

    Default Radio reception

    I was surprised by the poor radio reception on my RT. I see a blank on the left side, opposite the antenna on the right. Will adding another antenna here improve the reception? Is there a kit available to do this? Maybe just changing the antenna to a better one will improve the reception? Any help is appreciated.

  2. #2
    Eponymous Member Bob Denman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Grahamsville, NY
    Posts
    80,755

    Default

    PM Taxmyzer about this modification: he did it, and can tell you exactly what you need.

    2010 RT A&C ................................. 2014 RT Limited.
    (Gone; not forgotten!)

  3. #3
    Active Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    Long Island
    Posts
    54

    Default

    Thanks Bob. Did he add one or change the stock one?

  4. #4
    Eponymous Member Bob Denman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Grahamsville, NY
    Posts
    80,755

    Default

    He went to twin antennas... DSCF2001.jpg

    EDIT: I guess that it's not visible enough, with all of the folks standing around behind the bike...
    Last edited by Bob Denman; 04-19-2017 at 07:56 AM.

    2010 RT A&C ................................. 2014 RT Limited.
    (Gone; not forgotten!)

  5. #5
    Active Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    Long Island
    Posts
    54

    Default

    Thanks Bob!

  6. #6
    Active Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    Long Island
    Posts
    54

    Default

    [QUOTE=Bob Denman;1248162]PM Taxmyzer about this modification: he did it, and can tell you exactly what you need. [QUOTE]

    I PMed him and he said someone gave him an antenna and he purchased the associated hardware to install it. Maybe someone else knows if there is an aftermarket kit available so I could get all the pieces at once?

  7. #7
    Very Active Member BLUEKNIGHT911's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    VERMONT
    Posts
    8,308

    Default ANTENNEA ISSUES

    What may be causing the reception issue is the large amount of LOK_TITE BRP has used on the fitting on some Spyders .... So if you have a 7mm deep socket and vise grips .....take off the boot ..... remove the Antennae .... clean off ALL the Lok-Tite , because there will still be some in the threads on the fitting just screw the antennae back in and check if reception is any better ...... Mike

  8. #8
    Very Active Member Tango's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    1,950

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by BLUEKNIGHT911 View Post
    What may be causing the reception issue is the large amount of LOK_TITE BRP has used on the fitting on some Spyders .... So if you have a 7mm deep socket and vise grips .....take off the boot ..... remove the Antennae .... clean off ALL the Lok-Tite , because there will still be some in the threads on the fitting just screw the antennae back in and check if reception is any better ...... Mike

    I just did this with my F3 Limited. Yup, loctite was even on the underside of the ground loop. Reception was slightly better. Tom
    "I am the guardian of lost souls! I am the powerful, the pleasurable, the indestructible Mushu!"

    2016 F3Limited Intense Red Pearl
    Lamonster LED headlight and fog lights, Custom Dynamics LED fender and saddle bag lights, Can Am hitch, Can Am rider and passenger backrests, Baja Ron sway bar and Lamonster dog bones.

  9. #9
    Active Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    Long Island
    Posts
    54

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by BLUEKNIGHT911 View Post
    What may be causing the reception issue is the large amount of LOK_TITE BRP has used on the fitting on some Spyders .... So if you have a 7mm deep socket and vise grips .....take off the boot ..... remove the Antennae .... clean off ALL the Lok-Tite , because there will still be some in the threads on the fitting just screw the antennae back in and check if reception is any better ...... Mike
    Quote Originally Posted by Tango View Post
    I just did this with my F3 Limited. Yup, loctite was even on the underside of the ground loop. Reception was slightly better. Tom
    I ordered a 7 mm deep socket from Ebay and I will try this. Thanks!

  10. #10
    Eponymous Member Bob Denman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Grahamsville, NY
    Posts
    80,755

    Default

    If you decide to remove the Loc-Tite, and not replace it with a lesser amount: it's best to at least put a star washer underneath the antenna, as you screw it into place.

    2010 RT A&C ................................. 2014 RT Limited.
    (Gone; not forgotten!)

  11. #11
    Active Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    Long Island
    Posts
    54

    Default

    Thanks Bob. I'm going to try this but I'll probably go with 2 antennas anyway.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •