Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Very Active Member
    Spyder Garage

Default Considering a Leftover ST-S: Questions

My dealer has a leftover (ie - brand-new) 2016 ST-S that I'm considering making an offer on. Asking price (after instant rebate of $3500) is $17799. Although I've done research online, I'm new to Spyders so would appreciate any help with making this decision. My questions are:

1. The ST-S has the V-Twin engine which I know has been discontinued on 2017 model Spyders. The dealer says that maintenance would be "a little" more frequent on the V-Twin than on the newer engines. How does the V-Twin stack up against the newer engines with regard to reliability, etc?

2. What else should I be considering with regard to the V-Twin/ST-S vs. other models with newer engines?

3. Assuming comfort (my #1 consideration) is the same, would I be better off spending approx. $2k more on a 2017 F3?

4. Last, but not least (at least for now ), how much could I reasonably expect the price to be reduced by after negotiating?

Thanks!

Very Active Member
    Spyder Garage

Honestly: as good as the STs were: save your money for the F-3.
    2010 RT A&C, RT-L, RT-L , Orbital Blue, Cognac, Jet Black

Very Active Member
    Spyder Garage

Definitely look for a deal on a leftover F3
    2017 F3T-SM6 Squared Away Mirror Wedgies & Alignment
    2014 RTS-SM6 123,600 miles Sold 11/2017
    2014 RTL-SE6 8,600 miles
    2011 RTS-SM5 5,000 miles
    2013 RTS-SM5 burned up with 13,200 miles in 13 weeks
    2010 RTS-SM5 59,148 miles
    2010 RT- 622

Spyder Garage

Default Choices, choices