Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Very Active Member
    Spyder Garage

Default SE6 engine hesitation while upshifting

I've noticed in the roughly 700 miles on my new Spyder that when I upshift (+) there is a 1/2 second loss of engine power. This loss causes my head slightly lean forward then flip back. This does not occur when downshifting (-). Not sounding prissy but I'm new to Spyders and don't have much experience with this and want to know if its normal.

Spyder Garage

I've never experienced any loss of power when shifting, except when I got a badly watered down tank of gas, and when I got that out of the tank everything was back to normal. At what RPM do you upshift?
    Artillery lends dignity to what would
    otherwise be a vulgar brawl.
    Cognac 2014 RT-S

Very Active Member
    Spyder Garage

I've found that if I up shift at the wrong time (revs) I get this too. Different shift points to my previous spyder twin. A bit of practice and a few more miles and now hardly ever happens. Hope this helps.

Very Active Member
    Spyder Garage

Quote Originally Posted by JayBros View Post
    I've never experienced any loss of power when shifting, except when I got a badly watered down tank of gas, and when I got that out of the tank everything was back to normal. At what RPM do you upshift?
    3500 RPMs. Its like the engine dumbs down to shift. I don't know if its normal.

Very Active Member
    Spyder Garage

Quote Originally Posted by loisk View Post
    I've found that if I up shift at the wrong time (revs) I get this too. Different shift points to my previous spyder twin. A bit of practice and a few more miles and now hardly ever happens. Hope this helps.
    I've considered upping my shifting point to 4000 RPMs but its snowing again so I'll wait to test the idea

Very Active Member BLUEKNIGHT911's Avatar
    Spyder Garage

Default HESITATION